The Dance


[by Henri Matisse, photo by Ryan Donnell via Style Court]

I visited a lot of museums on my trip.

    1. I love museums.
    2. But more significantly, I might’ve died if I spent more than 15 minutes in the heat and humidity, which seems to be ever-freaking present on the East Coast in the summer.

My most favorite museum was the Barnes Foundation in Philadelphia. The painting above is one of the first things you see when you enter the galleries. I love the liveliness of it.
What I liked best about this collection was that it was very focused. Albert C. Barnes collected art across the centuries and around the world, but a lot of it is from the impressionist period. You get a real sense of how artists like Matisse, Cezanne and Chirico* evolved over the years.

*(…not quite impressionist, but Barnes was clearly a fan. Chirico even painted a portrait for him)

Leave a Reply

